Kent Tennis is led by a team of volunteers. We have a Council of elected representatives and from the Council a smaller Board of Management is elected. The volunteers are helped by an Office Team of experts who look after different areas of Kent Tennis.

Phil Lynch
Kent Tennis Office Manager

Phil manages the Kent Tennis Office, with responsibility for the Governance, Administration and Communications for Kent Tennis. Phil organises all our Board and Council meetings, aligning medium and long-term strategies with the Kent Tennis Plan and producing the Annual Review. Phil is also responsible for the generation of commercial revenue.

Janice White
Club and Coach Engagement Co-ordinator 
Safeguarding Officer

Janice is responsible for supporting our registered venues and coaches on a local level, ensuring they are updated on Kent and LTA programmes and initiatives. She takes the lead on annual venue forums, venue registration and the annual Kent Awards, as well as supporting the Kent Coaches Network and Council Volunteers.

Janice is the Safeguarding Officer for Kent.  If you have any concerns or questions please contact her.  All of the information you will need can be found here. 

Harr Izzard.jpg
Harri Izzard
Performance and Competitions Manager

Harri manages Kent’s Performance Coaches, County Training Squads, County teams at all age levels (from 8U to over 75s), and the Kent Inter-Club Leagues. She oversees the Team Tennis, Schools Tennis, County Championships, Seniors County Open, and all other county-run competitions. Harri manages the supply of tennis balls for the Kent competitions and Seniors Inter-County matches along with the County Tennis kit ordering process.  Harri is also the County Deputy Safeguarding Officer.

Craig Allen
County Lead Coach

Craig is the County Lead Coach and will be working closely with Harri to manage the County Training Programme, taking responsibility for the philosophy, the content and delivery of the training sessions, whilst managing the coaching team. Craig will be part of the selection process for County teams and preparation for County Cup competitions. Craig is also available to answer any performance related enquiries.


There are eight members of the Board who are all volunteers - the Secretary, Treasurer and LTA Councillor plus five elected by the Council. Phil Lynch, as Office Team Manager organises and attends Board meetings. 

Malcolm Smith 

Chairman and Commercial Affairs

Sandi Procter


Jason Baker

Administration and County Affairs

Nigel Jordan

Financial Affairs

John Ratcliffe

Clubs and Community Engagement 

Graham Silvester

Publicity and Communications / Disability Tennis

Geoffrey Stephenson

Legal Affairs

Anna Wilson



Council is made up of Officers of the Association, up to 20 other Councillors in specific roles as required elected at the AGM.  Life Presidents and Life Vice Presidents are also invited. 

John Watton

President /  Senior Tennis

Mary Evans

Deputy President / Schools Tennis and Annual Awards Dinner

Sandi Procter

LTA Deputy President / Workforce

Malcolm Smith

Chairman of the Board

Jason Baker

Honorary Secretary / Officials Network

Nigel Jordan

LTA Councillor / Honorary Treasurer

Phil Lynch

Honorary Assistant  Secretary / Archives

Jim Barton

District Associations - Medway and Maidstone

John Darby

Life Vice President / Wimbledon Tickets 

Tom Defrates

Disability Tennis

Susan Finch

Junior County Teams and Training 

Tony Fisher

Kent Supporters Club - Finance

Luke House

Coaches Network 

Sarah Langford


Rosemary Lee

Kent Supporters Club - Admin

Clare Lilley


John Ratcliffe

Club and Community Engagement

Graham Silvester

Publications and Website

Geoffrey Stephenson

Legal and Discipline

Graham Sutherland

District Association - Ashford 

Vanessa Webb

Press Officer / District Association - East Kent and Dover

Keely Wicks

Kent Inter-Club Leagues

Anna Wilson




These positions are an honour for those who have given long service to Kent Tennis. Nominations are made by Council or Board members and election is at the AGM.

Austin Smith 

Life President

Roger Bottomley OBE

Life Vice President

Denis Costelloe

Life Vice President

Pauline Cox

Life Vice President

Angela Darby

Life Vice President

John Darby

Life Vice President

John Povey

Life Vice President

Stuart Smith OBE

Life Vice President

Stephen Woodley

Life Vice President